If you have been arrested or are under investigation for a drug-related charge in New Jersey, it’s important that you understand some of the unique aspects of how a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) is treated under New Jersey law.
Classification of Controlled Dangerous Substances
New Jersey law places all controlled dangerous substances into one of five categories, based on their likelihood of abuse and any recognized medical value. The classifications include common recreational drugs, such as marijuana, cocaine and heroin, but can also apply to any compounds or substances used in their manufacture. Those drugs that are believed to have the greatest risk of abuse, combined with the least perceived medical value, are found in Schedule I, and those with the least risk of addiction and the greatest medical value or Schedule V CDSes.
The Potential Penalties for Possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance
The charges faced depend on the Schedule of the CDS in your possession. Possession of any amount of a Schedule I, II, III or IV controlled dangerous substance can be prosecuted as a crime in the 3rd degree, with a potential penalty of 3-5 years in prison and a fine of up to $35,000. If the drug falls under Schedule V, you can be sentenced to up to 18 months of incarceration and a $15,000 fine.
Contact the Law Office of Michael Curtis Greenberg
Don’t lose your license or go to jail. We will fight to protect your rights!
There’s no charge for your first consultation. We are available to meet with you evenings and weekends, if necessary, and can travel to your home or to detention to discuss your case. We accept all credit cards, as well as PayPal.
Named One of the Top 100 New Jersey Criminal Trial Lawyers in 2015
The American Society of Legal Advocates